T.O. and Ocho?

I have a six-page paper due tomorrow morning. Naturally, I am blogging.

-Let’s start where you’re expecting me to start, based on our title. T.O. is in Cincinnati. I’m hearing a lot of people saying they want Terrell and Ocho playing together in the orange and black. I think it could work. It might be a good move. High risk-high reward, right? Chad seems to think it’ll work. He tweeted about it and everything!

“@terrellowens man it dont take that damn long to sign on the dotted line, lets go damit!!! You can be Batman i will be Robin, lets go!!”

I’m all for bringing in another deep threat. Don’t get me wrong. But is T.O. really the right choice? I feel like this organization thinks it can bring in any player and incorporate them into the locker room without issue because of what they’ve done with so many other “troubled” players. But here’s the deal: Terrell Owens isn’t “troubled”; he’s just trouble. We’ve already got Chad in Carson’s face on the sideline time and again. I doubt 9 wants Ochocinco and Owens there.
Just because he didn’t terrorize the locker room in Buffalo (or just because no one said anything about it) doesn’t mean he won’t do it here. He’s done it so many times before, what makes us think it’ll be different this time? I don’t see it. As Mo Egger said, it’s about the overall body of work. Here’s a good analogy he used:

“If Lady Gaga offers up unlistenable song after unlistenable song, then finally releases something that doesn’t make me want to slice off my ears, it does not make him a great artist. His entire body of work will be used against him.”

T.O.’s has terrorized locker rooms in San Francisco, Philly and Dallas. Just because he didn’t destroy the Buffalo Bills doesn’t mean he’ll fit in with the WhoDeys.

-The good news is everything I just typed above may mean nothing. According to his agent, Antonio Bryant has signed a four-year, $28 million contract with Cincinnati.
Of course, this signing brings up a whole other issue for me: what are they going to go for in the draft? The biggest piece they needed in the off-season was a big-time, deep threat wideout. So they sign Matt Jones and Antonio Bryant. Two guys who have had discipline issues in the past. I’m not saying they haven’t turned themselves around, or that they won’t do it at some point. It’s definitely possible (see: Chris Henry). But, I vote MikeyBoy hires a few scouts to goes after a good WR in the draft.

-Not sure what sparked it, but apparently Emmit Smith really doesn’t like Dan Snyder. I give the upper hand to Snyder on this one, though, because of his reply.

-Ben Roethlisberger has been accused of something again. I think it’s just assault this time, but I have heard talk of sexual charges, too.
He hired a big shot Georgia lawyer. Same guy who represented T.I. for his weapons charges and Ray Lewis in his murder case. With that in mind, I get the idea Big Ben is worried about this case.
I’m not going to speculate on what happened, what he did (or didn’t do), or anything like that. There are plenty of people out there who will make accusations like this to try and get some hush money, sadly enough. But that doesn’t mean Roethlisberger isn’t guilty, either.
I’m not trying to speculate. There’s a lot of stuff I can’t even act like I know. What I do know, though, is that this is the second time he’s been accused of something like this. I’m not saying he did anything either time, but what I am saying is that he might want to take a look at his decision-making now that it’s left him in this spot…twice.

-The PGA Tour finally made a ruling. The square-groove wedges are illegal. Finally. The USGA needs to do its homework when it makes rules and avoid stupid controversy like this. It casts an unnecessary shadow over the Tour.

Now why don’t we move on to more pressing issues. You know, maybe something that will truly matter within the next, say, two months.

-Cincinnati won a game in March! Cincinnati won a game in the Big East Tourney! I haven’t been able to say either of those things in the past four years, so I am taking the time to do so now. Born Ready came through in crunch time again for the Bearcats. A strong move to the hoop and the cool confidence at the line to hit the winning free throw — again.

Boom. Bearcats win.


This team’s inability to finish games almost makes it less enjoyable to see them win, but the fact that they won a BE Tournament game is a step in the right direction. The fact that I’m even excited about a first-round conference tournament victory says a lot about what’s happened to this program. After the game, Lance said it was “big time” and he came to Cincinnati “to change the program around and play hard and just win games.” Let’s hope that’s what he’s doing.

-Now the Bearcats get the chance to knock off Louisville tonight at MSG for a chance to play West Virginia. I don’t like the draw. I think Born Ready and Co. can beat these two teams. But I’m a realist. I don’t see it happening. Especially considering they’ll have to go through the team I picked to win the Big East Championship.
This guy agrees with me. He just takes a far more technical and numbers-based approach. And it’s probably more interesting than my analysis, too.

-Mizzou looked like garbage today. Most everything I’ve read said the piss-poor performance against Nebraska today won’t harm their tournament chances. I don’t disagree. But the question in my mind is this: With a few upsets, could Mizzou find itself on the outside?
This time of year always has its fair share of upsets. If there are a few bubble teams who make runs in their conference tournament, or even a few teams that pull an upset that leaves another “lock” team taking an at-large bid, who goes first? I don’t think it’ll be the Tigers, but the fact that a 15-point loss to Nebraska is the last thing people saw doesn’t put them in a good spot.

-Speaking of Mizzou, a great response from MU grad Pat Forde to a kU fan during his chat on ESPN.com yesterday. Boom…roasted.

CBS is talking Jennifer Hudson for this year’s One Shining Moment. It doesn’t really matter to me. I just love One Shining Moment. I love it almost as much as the tournament. I’m almost excited when the title game is over because I get to see it.
And here’s a great piece about the man behind the magic, Doug Towey, who passed away a year ago tomorrow. Even though he never knew me, or most anyone he touched with this video every year, he did it. And did so in a unique and always memorable way.
So, since this blog has been so word heavy, I will leave you with some classics.
The first one ever. For the 1987 Indiana Hoosiers (Teddy Pendergrass):

For the 2008 Kansas Jayhawks (Luther Vandross):

For the 2001 Duke Blue Devils (not sure who, but maybe it’ll spark a little magic for Johnny Scheyer, Kyle Singler, Nolan Smith and the boys this year):

*I love the 1:20 mark. One of the coolest upsets I’ve ever seen in the tourney. One of my favorite celebrations, too. Those pesky 15th-seeded Hampton Pirates!

And, lastly, for the 2009 North Carolina Tar Heels. With a short tribute from Greg Gumbel to the man mentioned above: Mr. Doug Towey.

*I love the “Junkyard Dog” DeMarre Carroll at 1:07. And Marcus Denmon at 3:20.

Enjoy the rest of Championship Week, everyone. It only comes once a year!
Altiora.

~ by nchaney3 on March 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
